Make your own free website on Tripod.com
Esau Hillier 1938


Merchant. Born March 30th, 1878, at Griquet, son of Simeon and Dorcas [Manuel-Sister of Jopsiah Manuel and his six-brothers of Burnt Island, Notre Dame Bay, ship builders and Merchant.] Hillier. Educated at Griquet public school. 1902-21 carried on business at Griquet for Josiah Manuel, of Exploits, after which took over the said business. Has also a branch at Quirpon. Appointed Wreck Commissioner, January 1st. 1930. Married November 8th. , to Edith Beatrice LeDrew. Children: Five, Evelyn, Sybil, Pearl, Peggy, and Joan. Society: L. O. A. Religion: Church of England. Residence: Griquet, Quirpon, senior years on Carson Ave., St. John’s.



Esau Hilliers property at Quirpon 1950
The 1938 Journey of the Argonaut
by Canon George Earl

We sailed pass the Onion on Cape Onion at 8 o’clock, sailed on pass the Sacred Islands an got a tow through Quirpon Narrows by a Mr. Johnson [ Frank Johnson] and soon after were met by Mr. Esau Hillier in his boat “Peerless”, who took us into tow and led us into Griquet at 11:45, with guns being fired all the way to the warf. And behold another victim~Gerald Doyle’s boat the Miss Newfoundland was here crippled too, having lost her rudder and ready like us to be towed to St.Anthony tomorrow.
The trip to St.Anthony was interesting to say the least, however unusual and even undignified for proud ships. We were awakened at 06:00 nearly chocking from the smoke pouring from the galley where the Captain was having troubles lighting the fire. We were wondering what could go wrong next. But with that problem solved and breakfast over, the procession began ~ the Peerless ahead with both engines and steering gear functioning; the Miss Newfoundland in the middle with engine working but no means of steering and the Argonaut bringing up the rear with no engine going but steering gear all right. An interesting comedy of error’s or failure’s. We had a northeast swell but no wind and the only hold up on the way was a snapped cable but the Miss Newfoundland had a spare.
We were three hours reaching St.Anthony and what ever we may have looked like, the welcome was loud and clear ~ guns and fog horns and bells from the schooners in the harbour and people on the land. Dr. Curtis, successor to Dr. Grenfell, welcomed us personally and we placed our boat into the capable hands of the Grenfell dock, to replace stuffing boxes and straightened out shafts and replace rudders, as we continued our work of laying on hands and straightening out lives.
And what a good place to be” ~ St.Anthony ~ where so many have been healed, loved and inspired and set on their course again.

Newfoundland Quartly
VOL. LXXXV, No. 2
Fall~1989